Scholarships & Awards


EGA offers scholarships and awards to encourage study and excellence in needlework. Amounts awarded may vary each year. For more information, contact EGA headquarters.

International Embroidery Conference Scholarships

Laura Sandison and Sandie Cormaci-Boles will be attending the International Embroidery Conference due to the generosity of an anonymous donor who established a scholarship to pay their registration fees.

Judith and Susan Richardson Initial Steps Toward Teaching Certification Scholarship
  • A scholarship to take EGA Teacher Certification in the technique of your choice.
  • Benefits teacher certification candidates in the EGA Teaching Certification Program seeking their first EGA certification.

Scholarship Information and Application

Due Date: Applications are accepted as soon as the candidate has completed the screening process

Mary-Dick Digges Scholarship
  • For the study of surface embroidery, defined as crewel embroidery, Japanese embroidery, and stumpwork.
  • Awarded by the Education Department

Scholarship Application

Due Date: March 1 of each year | Recipients notified by: April 1
2017 Scholarship Winner: Elaine Evans from our Winchester Chapter in Virginia

Legacy Scholarship
  • For EGA members to study the art of embroidery and the preservation of the heritage of the art of embroidery
  • Awarded by the Scholarship Review Committee

Scholarship Application

Due date: January 15 of each year | Recipients notified by March 15
2018 Scholarship Winner: Margaret Welch from our Cyberstitchers Online Chapter

Genny Morrow Memorial Scholarship
  • Scholarship awarded to an EGA national seminar attendee for use at the next year’s National Seminar
  • Awarded by the Board of Directors
  • Award covers one four-day or two two-day classes in a canvas technique.
  • Information is available at each National Seminar

2016 Scholarship Winner: Terry Mullen from our Central New York Chapter

Penny Evans Memorial Scholarship
  • For EGA members for an embroidery related class, study project, or similar education offering by EGA, The Royal School of Needlework, the San Francisco School of Needlework and Design, or the City and Guilds of London Institute, in the U.S. or the U.K.
  • Awarded by the Scholarship Review Committee

Scholarship Application

Due date: May 1 of each year | Recipients notified by: June 1
2018 Scholarship Winner: Kirsten Doogue, from our Merrimack Valley Chapter in Billerica, MA

Marjorie Jones Scholarship
  • Awarded to benefit students of crewel embroidery taking a crewel class at EGA’s National Seminar or an EGA region seminar.

Scholarship Application

Due Date: April 1 of each year | Recipients notified by May 1
2018 Scholarship Winner: Roberta Burke from our Valley Oak Chapter in Davis, California

Research Fellowship Grant Award
  • Applicants need not be members of EGA
  • Awarded for in-depth research in all areas of embroidery and allied textile arts, and to create a basis for dialogue between EGA and other grant and research institutions.
  • Grants of up to $1,000 are awarded annually.

Scholarship Application

Due Date: June 1 of each year | Recipient notified by September 1


Bobbie Pilling Memorial Award

This annual award, established to honor a treasure of EGA, a longtime supporter and former national president, Barbara (Bobbie) Pilling, is presented to an EGA member who has “gone outside the box” with an original piece of needlework that shows personal growth and artistic merit. The accompanying statement should address both personal growth and artistic merit and explain how the stitcher thought “outside the box.”

Award information

Due Date: June 1, 2019 | Winners announced at EGA National Seminar
Send paperwork to with Pilling Award in the subject line.

2018 Winners

First Place – Joyce Houck, Member-at-large, “Three Litters”
Second Place – Jenna McClooney, Sand Hill Crane Chapter, “A Life of Its Own” (See the piece here)
Third Place – Sally Olsen, Cedar Valley Chapter, “Thank You For Your Support” (See the piece here)

Gold Thread Award

The annual awards recognize outstanding individuals who have given freely of their time and talents, and best exemplify EGA’s purpose. A total of 13 individuals may be acknowledged – one of each region, with a national recipient selected from among the region recipients.

Printable Nomination Form

Due Date: May 1 of each year

2018 Gold Thread Award Winners
Carolinas: Julie Anderson
Great Lakes Region: Carole DeWitt
Heartland Region: Peggy Eggert
Metropolitan Region: Lynn Schamberger
New England Region: Dawn Senftleber
Pacific Southwestern Region: Jenny Ewing
South Central Region: Diane Williams
Sun Region: Donna Christie
Tennesse Valley Region: Sandra Sacksteder

2017 National Gold Thread Award Winner: Solveig Walstrom

More EGA Scholarships & Awards information:

  • Scholarships are not transferable to any other person.
  • Scholarships may not be used for any purpose other than the stated purpose on the application.
  • Any EGA member may apply without regard to gender, race, religion, national or ethnic origin.
  • Applications are reviewed by the EGA Scholarship Committee in a blind process.
  • The Committee reserves the right to withhold scholarships in any given year if there are no appropriate applications.
  • A single individual may submit only one application per scholarship.
  • A single individual may be awarded only one EGA Scholarship per year.